On the fast track

Soon-to-be old(er) technology

The other day I took Japan’s iconic bullet train from Tokyo to Nagoya, a major city about 164 miles to the southwest. From an American East Coast perspective, it’s roughly comparable to the 190-mile trip between Boston and New York. Except that typically, the Amtrak run along the Northeast Corridor takes 3-1/2 to 4 hours, barring any number of possible glitches. The Shinkansen, on the other hand, got me to my destination in one hour and 42 minutes – no unexpected stops, no extended slowdowns, and a very nice lady serving snacks throughout the trip. The train travels at speeds of up to 188 miles an hour, though I don’t know what our speed was on my particular trip. The ride was smooth. The conductors bowed as they came in and out of the car.

I first rode the Shinkansen almost 30 years ago when I came to Japan on a student exchange, and I felt I was in futureland then. Decades later, it’s still easy to marvel at the train’s sleek design. But when it comes to trains, the Japanese don’t sit still. Kawasaki Heavy Industries recently announced plans for the “efSET,” or environmentally friendly super express train, which will use the Shinkansen’s high-speed technology and debut in a couple of years. They’re hoping for a pace of up to 217 miles per hour as well as better energy efficiency and a nicer ride. That’ll be achieved, the company says, through less noise, a more aerodynamic design, and a better electrical control mechanism.

Japan is hardly the only country with good trains. But build them this well, and it’s not suprising that I barely got a reserved seat on the Shinkansen back to Tokyo on Friday evening, despite its 14-car length. Two trains filled as I waited to get my ticket. Apart from the crowds, using Japan’s bullet train – or regular trains, for that matter – is stress-free. You get on when you expect to; you don’t keep your ride at the other end waiting and wondering. The cars are akin to airplane cabins: bright, clean, spacious. You arrive in the heart of the city. The price was right: about $95 each way. And perhaps most important, if you miss your train, you know there’ll be another in short order.

It’s a good user-friendly experience. But still, the Japanese keep on improving on it. I’m looking forward to 2010.

I

Leave a comment